In the Dumps

I haven’t been feeling well the last couple of days. Yesterday I woke up, ate breakfast, and proceeded to do a three hour bike ride to the fabric stores I frequent. I am working on a project for a friend and needed supplies, so I went for some fabric and zippers and the like as soon as the stores opened. After I got back home and took a shower, it hit me. I felt horrible, so I slept for the rest of the day. I woke up in the evening feeling well enough to start working on the project until I went back to bed for the night.

This morning when I woke up I felt okay, went out for breakfast with my husband, and then came back to continue working. I worked for three hours and got a lot done despite a headache and upset stomach, and then laid back down again and slept for the entire afternoon. My headache is gone and my stomach has settled, but I think I’m going to take it easy for the rest of the evening.

My general philosophy when I’m sick is to sleep as much as possible. I’ve found that most of the time, lots of sleep is the best medicine. I have no qualms about taking a day off to do just this, I am generally not the type of person to work through illness and would rather nip it in the bud immediately. This particular project I am working on is an exception, because I am having fun with it and because there is also a deadline involved.

Everyone who has ever lived with me has told me I sleep more than anyone they have ever known, and I have yet to meet someone who sleeps as much or as easily as I do. To feel 100% well rested I need 10 hours of sleep a night. When I am sick, I need about 12-15 hours. My mother says as a baby I slept through the night almost immediately, and she has numerous pictures of me as a child asleep in various places, like laundry baskets and laying in front of the tv with my head propped up on my hands. I talked to a professor in college who specialized in sleep disorders, and asked him why a person would sleep so much, and he said it was probably because I had a large “sleep debt” to sleep off. I don’t know how that was possible, because at the time I was getting 10+ hours of sleep a night because I had no morning classes. I’ve long since accepted that this is just what my body needs, and really I’m pretty lucky that I don’t have the opposite problem of insomnia or something. However, it would be nice to be one of those people who can function on 5 hours a sleep a night, I would definitely get a lot more done.

3 Comments

Filed under Design, Illustration, Other

3 responses to “In the Dumps

  1. Crocs Are Awful

    Insomnis is horrible. But also quite fun. I have it from time to time. I like to annoy my brain by doing something when all I really wanted to do was sleep. Plus it allows me extra time to just take things in, that said I would give anything to sleep a solid night through…. :-) Hope you feel better soon! x

  2. Rhiannon

    I am the same way! I can fall asleep just about anytime, anywhere. I slept for a full 27 hours last summer on a trip last summer. Everyone laughs because as soon as I stop talking I can fall asleep. — and I enjoy sleeping! I like getting out and seeing the world, but I also enjoy cuddling up for a nice rest. If I’m sick, don’t even bother trying to get me up — I’m out to the world until I begin feeling better.

    I hope you find yourself feeling better soon. Even though the resting part is nice, the feeling icky part is no fun.

  3. haddox7857@msn.com

    Yep! You’ve never had any problems with sleeping! Hope you start feeling better! Might be the weather too! You know…change of the season. These times always make me either feel really tired or motivated to do something.

Leave a Reply

