Weekend Waffles

This weekend was filled with watching the last of the Olympic coverage, neighborhood walks to my favorite little shops, and making waffles in the morning. My husband and I walked to the little bookstore on the main strip of our neighborhood. I found an old copy of For Us, the Living by Heinlein for four dollars and looked around for children’s books for my niece’s birthday.

On the counter where I paid for my book was a display for another book. This book was called “Tips for Creative People” or “How to be Creative” or something to that effect. Intrigued, I read the back cover which listed the tips that were to be fleshed out within. One was “Don’t wait to become who you are supposed to be before you create something.” Keep in mind I’m paraphrasing, but I’m sure you get the gist. Listed toward the bottom was “Be boring. You will get more done that way.” That one made me smile.

The waffles are a weekend staple. I made them on Sunday morning. My recipe is something I’ve adapted to my healthy eating regimen. They contain no refined flour and lots of protein. The husband loves them, and likes to have his with a slice of turkey bacon cooked inside it. This is easy to do, just cut the turkey bacon slice in half and place on the bottom part of the waffle maker and pour the batter over it. Be sure to use some cooking spray so that the turkey bacon doesn’t stick.

Also, I’ve used 1/4 cup of flaxseed meal in place of the oatbran before. This gives is a nice flavor and texture. Feel free to experiment with the ratio of flours, it can have some delicious and healthy results.

This recipe yields 4 to 5 waffles.

Weekend Waffles

3 eggs (or egg white equivalent)
1 cup nonfat vanilla Greek yogurt
1/4 cup nonfat milk
1/2 cup melted butter or margarine
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 pinch of nutmeg (this is something I recently added, makes it smell like Christmas in the kitchen)
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1 1/4 cups oat bran
3/4 cup whole wheat flour

Beat together eggs, milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Mix in melted butter and then baking powder. Mix in oat bran and flour. Bake according to waffle maker’s instructions. Top with strawberries and nonfat vanilla Greek yogurt, if desired. Serve with turkey sausage.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journal, Other

Leave a Reply

