French Toast Love

This French Toast is something I recently started making it again. Nine months ago I got my act together and changed my diet and exercise routines. Present day, I am 40 pounds lighter. At this point, I can eat pretty much whatever I want, but it’s not as though I’m scarfing down chips and pizza and ice cream at regular intervals. When I want an indulgent meal, I make it count, but I continue to avoid excess fat and sugar.

The first time I had French Toast after I began my health regimen was at my wedding, where a brunch reception was served. It was nothing short of exquisite, and delightfully apropo. Since then I endeavored to recreate that French toast, but in a way that does not compromise my healthy habits.

My French Toast requires sourdough bread, a disclaimer for the gluten-intolerant or those avoiding carbohydrates altogether. I researched making sourdough from scratch, but the process seems long and arduous, though I will probably one day try it. In the meantime, I buy Pugliese sourdough bread at the grocery store, the smallest loaf of sourdough I can find, which makes for 9-10 slices.

This bread is soaked overnight, so plan ahead.

The mixture in which to soak the bread consists of the following:
– 1 egg (or the equivalent of egg whites)
– 1 cup nonfat milk
– 1 cup nonfat vanilla Greek yogurt
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1/4 tsp nutmeg
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 tsp Splenda (or equivalent sweetener. This isn’t necessary. The yogurt and cinnamon gives a good amount of sweetness. Also, if you top it with more yogurt and strawberries like I do, you won’t even notice that there isn’t any added sweetener.)

Whisk all these ingredients together and dip each 1 1/2″ bread slice into it. Place slices into a pie pan or baking sheet with a rim. You will be pouring the leftover mixture over the slices, so you need something to contain it. After all the mixture is used, cover the pan with saran wrap and put into the refrigerator overnight, or until most of the mixture is absorbed.

You can bake the toast in the pan you soak it in, but keep in mind that the batter makes the toast sticky, so I prefer to use a new pan covered with parchment paper. It’s up to you how you want to prevent the toast sticking to the pan. Bake the toast in the oven for 30 minutes at 300 degrees. I find the lower temperature allows the toast to cook all the way through, and prevents the outside from burning.

When it’s done, you can top with whatever you like. I like butter, sugar-free syrup, Greek yogurt and strawberries. I also grill turkey breakfast sausage to serve with it (I have an indoor grill, best thing ever.)

1 Comment

Filed under Other

One response to “French Toast Love

  1. Elaine Haddox

    Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

